jump to navigation

Ouch, my head… March 25, 2006

Posted by Mick in Diary.
trackback

So what’s been going on with me?

Ok, well. I am housesitting this week. Which means that I get to have a place to myself (with a cute little pussy) and can come and go easily onto the Metro to head to the city. This housesitting gig also starts a series of jumping around from place to place for the next 6 weeks or so. I have more housesitting next week for a couple of weeks, and then early May I have a couple more weeks.

Where am I staying in between housesitting? No idea yet. I figure there’s no point in renting a place until after housesitting has finished, and hopefully then I will be able to afford to rent a place as well. (Damn Centrelink). Thankfully I have nice workmates and a pretty good boss (hehehe) who are kind enough to help me out whilst I work out what the hell i am doing.

So, I played Rugby today. Not League, but Union. Why you ask? Good freaking question. A pommy guy at work asked me a week or so ago if I wanted to play in the Washington Rugby Club C team on the previous Saturday. You see, I’ve been playing some touch football with some guys at the embassy and a few of those guy play in the Rugby A team that travels around the US playing against other States. Anyway, Roger asked me if I’d like to play, and I thought I would turn up and have a look, seeing as though I am missing the footy back home so much. I didn’t make it the previous weekend due to a very very big St. Patricks Day happy hour, but there was another game today which I dragged myself to at 10am this morning.

Now, I have never ever played Union in my life. I don’t even know the bloody rules properly. I watch it and shake my head at some of the penalties and rulings that are made during the games.

So, I had a bit of a training run with them all, and then the 15 players took the field (I didn’t start thankfully). Now these guys are big. ALL of them were taller than me and bigger than me and I was totally wondering what the hell I was doing there. Some of the guys I knew were telling me I’d get a run, but I was really not that keen. I thought about putting my sneakers back on, and getting dressed, but then Roger calls me over and throws me onto the field.

“Go play inside centre”, he says.

Now, call me a fake Aussie, but what the fuck does an inside centre do? I had overheard the coach telling the former inside centre that his job was to “…tackle all day..”.

Me? Tackle? 120kg 6 foot tall black Americans? That’s funny.

So I had 15 minutes, where I basically stuck to the outside. Our team dropped the ball so much that I didn’t actually get much of a touch, so that saved me from being tackled, but then came the part where the ball carrier was running at me. “Shit!”. So, I ran in, shoulder down and tackled. Hell, somehow it worked. He went down and tried to get off a pass which went nowhere.

I have always wanted to play League, but have always been a bit of wimp when it comes to running head first into bigger guys than me, but the feeling of tackling a guy and then taking them down to the ground is damn good. Later, a kick was sent down the field for myself and the winger (an Argentinian called Carlito) to try and chase down. I made it to the fullback first and managed to take him down before he could kick it and damn it felt good.

I didn’t do much more than that, other than letting a guy get past me for a try, but by that stage it was like 50-0, so I didn’t feel too bad.

But bloody hell my head hurts. I only hit a few guys and was barely tackled, but I could already feel my brain rolling around in my skull already. I don’t know how the pros do it. 2 guys in our team came off with concussion. One of them (the fullback) was knocked out for a good few seconds and can’t remember anything of the 2nd half.

Will I play again? I dunno. i don’t think I am quite of the Rugby calibre, even in the C grade team in a country that doesn’t know the difference between Rugby Union and Rugby League. (but then again, neither do Victorians, but don’t get me started).

So, right now I am homeless, but I hear there is free wireless internet at Dupont Circle, so I am sure you will all get updates in between my panhandling and scrounging through the trash (I mean rubbish).

Comments»

1. Angie - March 26, 2006

Poor you! But your head will survive this.

2. Diane Vanderdong - March 27, 2006

Now you will be able to share stories about football injuries with Nic! You can compete for the ‘worstest’ injuries.

Diane

3. Tim - April 3, 2006

Hey dude. Just thought I’d give you some aussie sports results. Bombers beat Swans last weekend in AFL Round 1. Eels lost to Cowboys, they’ve only won 1 game outta 4 so far. Webber has DNF’d both F1GPs. Aussies should win 3 outta 3 tests in South Africa. Does FOX Sports cover cricket over there? 🙂


Leave a Reply

