jump to navigation

Sick. Home or flu? Both. June 24, 2006

Posted by Mick in Diary.
trackback

Blah.

After the exhaltation of the other day, I have finally been attacked by the flu bug and I feel like crap.

Put that together with the fact that it's humid as hell, my mobile phone has stopped working, and I have nowhere to live, and I'm not feeling so crash hot.

I write this from the back room at the Embassy. I have a fan running next to me, (the air-con is not running) and I am sniffling, coughing and hacking up green goobers occassionally.

I head back to Australia next weekend for 2 weeks. I am really looking forward to it. Can't wait to see the kids and family. I just don't want to be sick when I am in New York next weekend (before I fly out) or on the 20 hours in the plane, or when I am in Canberra! I will have to stock up on some Sudafed or something cause right now my head is full of crap and I have bugger-all energy.

I was supposed to be moving in with a Swiss guy who was going to let me share his studio for $300 a month. His place was literally 200 metres down the road and he seemed like a decent guy.

Unfortunately I have not been able to contact him for the last week and a half and now I am not so sure that I will be moving in there at all. Which leaves me buggered for when I get back from Australia. I really need to find a place cause I don't think all this moving around is really doing me any good.

Hopefully I'll hear from him before I get back and I can still move in there, but I just don't know where he is.

Well, I think I have to force myself to get up and get out into the swamp that is Washington DC. This palce is crazy. The low temperature is 21 at night, with the high being 27, but mix in 75% humidity and it's pretty yucko. 

But I won't complain…I won't complain…I won't complain.

Only 2 sleeps till Australia beat Italy! YAY!! 

Comments»

1. Enny - June 24, 2006

Mebbe getting it before you return will build up your immunity for when you inevitably get it here…!

2. Tim - June 25, 2006

Hey dude, thanks for the updates and thanks for the call. Sorry I missed it, have been off trailbiking for a week. Looking forward to catching up when you’re here in July. Glad to hear that you’re keeping up with the Aussies in all sports – esp World Cup, the lack of sleep is killing me, but worth it. Then I’ve got a month of Tour De France to stay up for! Don’t worry about the heat and the flu, you’ll be right. Cheers, Tim.

3. Caria - June 26, 2006

Just a note to say loving your blog (link from Steph – Much ado about something). I’ve got a yucky cold here in Sydney too and it just sucks. Feel better mate, I know DC is awful this time of year, lots of ice tea always helps.


Leave a Reply

